MY LOVE FOR COVID 19

Relax, I am not talking about how a guy just came all the way from china and instils fear in millions of people, neither am I talking about its uniqueness and the preferential treatments it gets by travelling across borders without a freaking passport. (only the queen of England can). I would have talked about the first quarters it visited on its full arrival to my country,(which you also might have fallen in love with) but that still wouldn’t perfectly express my love for it.

So how did I fall in love with an invisible thing? a virus for that matter!!

I mean, this thing doesn’t even have half of the features I look for in a woman, before fallen in love,  (Don’t ask me for the features please). But sincerely, I fell in love totally with covid19.

Who becomes more careful of his environment?

Who calls up almost everyone to find out how they are doing and how they are staying safe?

Who becomes more conscious of how people around him move, what they touch, how they relate, who they talk to, where they go, and still becomes a police officer at the door, confirming if they’ve washed their hands thoroughly before touching the door nob?

A good number of us, (especially Lagos residents) have hid under the terrible traffic and stress of this mega city. gather here, let’s recite our cover up memory verse together:

   Lagos Resident Cover up, chapter 1:

Na Lagos stress o, no vex, I wanted to call you, but I slept off in the traffic, and  when I got home, I was extremely tired.

I wanted to call you when I got home, but I felt you might have slept

I missed your call, sorry I was busy, I’ll call you later.

(you can add yours in the comment box)

Interestingly, covid19 brought the later to our door step, quicker than we all expected. I find myself reading and replying to messages I haven’t even opened in weeks, I was ashamed and sad when I saw some opportunities I missed,

Me: (if it was sincerely mine, the person would have called me jare, my own blessing cannot pass me by) but deep down, I know say I fuckup.

If only I had been faithful to my word and have returned the call when I said I would, I probably wouldn’t have missed that opportunity. (don’t promise to return calls, rather beg the person to please call you back).

So back to the gist, I fell in love with covid19, because now I have every reason to care and be genuinely concerned about other people, especially my Family and neighbors, because I know that my survival is in their hands, so is theirs  in mine.

What are your thoughts about Covid19?

Don’t panic, because this indignation will overpass, and we all will be saved. Stay safe, and stay indoor, much more than that, check on your loved ones and make sure they stay safe too.

How are you actually coping? Tell us your routine, to encourage somebody. (Or are you still going out?)

If you are still going out, hmmmm

(Your Egungun has got to be very careful o, because plenty trucks are out there already, not even motor). I pray you don’t get jammed by soldiers..

I wish all those who tested positive quick recovery, and everyone sound health. It’s time to go back to my online class.

Don’t forget to comment all you have in mind, lest they trouble your stomach and send you to the toilet consistently..

kuti

#israelkuti

Published by israelkuti

A seasoned poet, a writer, An Agriculturist, love to help impact others Positively, (POETRY WITH PASSION) Give Others A reason to live, that when you are gone, the reason lives on. Israelkuti.

7 thoughts on “MY LOVE FOR COVID 19

  1. Covid-19 challenged us to display the humanity we all scream we claim.
    Alas! It also displayed the inherent greed, malevolence and mischievousness man can display against his fellow man.

    It’s unfortunate that people see these times as a means of exploitation instead of mastering the art of loving and caring. Let’s just hope another microbe doesn’t set out to teach them the lesson they’re not learning now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment